Ayupp Fact Check

Image source: IPL website

Mumbai: Ahead of the resumption of the IPL 2021 in the United Arab Emirates on September 19, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Rajasthan Royals (RR), Punjab Kings (PBKS) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) announced replacements in their respective squads for the remainder of the season.

RCB has brought in Sri Lanka’s Wanindu Hasaranga as a replacement for Australia’s Adam Zampa. In the recent three-match T20I series against India in Sri Lanka, Hasaranga bagged a total of 7 wickets, including a 4-wicket haul in the final T20I. Other replacements for RCB are Dushmantha Chameera for Daniel Sams, left-arm quick George Garton for Kane Richardson, and Tim David for New Zealand’s Finn Allen.

Meanwhile, RR have brought in New Zealand wicketkeeper-batsman Glenn Phillips as a replacement for England’s Jofra Archer. Phillips has so far played 25 T20Is and has 506 runs against his name. He has scored a hundred and 2 half centuries and has a strike-rate of 149.70. South Africa’s Tabraiz Shamsi will replace Andrew Tye in the Rajasthan Royals squad.

PBKS has signed Australian fast bowler Nathan Ellis for Riley Meredith. Ellis recently was in the limelight following his hat-trick on his international debut against Bangladesh earlier this month. The right-arm pacer is also one of the reserve players in Australia’s 2021 T20I World Cup squad. PBKS have also picked England leg-spinner Adil Rashid to replace Jhye Richardson. 

KKR has brought Tim Southee on board. The veteran New Zealand pacer will be a replacement for Australia's Pat Cummins.

Injured / Replaced Player


Replacement Player

Adam Zampa


Wanindu Hasaranga

Daniel Sams


Dushmantha Chameera

Kane Richardson


George Garton

Finn Allen


Tim David

Jofra Archer


Glenn Phillips 

Andrew Tye


Tabraiz Shamsi

Riley Meredith


Nathan Ellis

Jhye Richardson


Adil Rashid

Pat Cummins


Tim Southee

Scroll to Top