Fake news claim: PoK (Pakistan occupied Kashmir) will now not fall in the Jammu and Kashmir territory, instead it will be represented in Ladakh, so Ladakh having a larger area. With multiple circulations of India’s map, it is important to know the truth.

Examples of viral posts in circulation on Social Media like WhatsApp, Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, etc.

Below is the assumed New map of India with Kashmir

This is the new state and UT map of India from today. Historic day.

Quickly -
How many full states?
How many half states (with assembly but not a full state)?
How many Union Territories?


Another new map of India after bifurcation of J&K

So which one is true.

Facts Check: PoK, will be represented in Ladakh,

News Verification: Different images are shared among the user, thus leading to confusion about the real image of India. The old and new map of India has gone through a drastic change.

In the new map of India, 2019 today POK is shown in the Ladakh area. Ladakh will now be shown with a bigger area dimension than Jammu and Kashmir.

The new map of India was released by the Survey General of India on October 31, 2019.

Below is the new political map of India, Union Minister Dr. Jitendra Singh had also tweeted a photo of the latest map showing "the Union Territories of #Jammu & #Kashmir and #Ladakh, as these exist after 31st October 2019."

This map shows Gilgit-Baltistan as part of the Ladakh union territory.

Difference between old and new map of India

In the new map of India after removal of 370, Ladakh will have a larger area, as the image shared by Dr. Jitendra Singh, it is the correct representation of the new status of territories.

Another map shared or found on Google search is more of an illustration made by people who were expecting PoK (Pakistan Occupied Kashmir) to fall in the Jammu and Kashmir territory.

About New Map of India

  1. The new map of India shows the new Union Territories of Jammu & Kashmir (J&K) and Ladakh was prepared by the Survey General of India.
  2. The new map of the Jammu and Kashmir and Union Territory includes 22 districts, including areas of Mirpur and Muzaffarabad, which were under the PoK in the previous map.
  3. The newly created Union Territory of Ladakh includes two districts Kargil and Leh. It has to be remembered that while Kargil has been carved of Leh and Ladakh district, Leh has districts of Gilgit, Gilgit Wazarat, Chilhas, Tribal Territory and remaining areas of Leh and Ladakh.
  4. Apart from this, Kupwara, Baramulla, Bandipora, Poonch, Shopian, Kulgam, Kishtwar, Udhampur, Doda, Samba, Budgaam, Jammu, Kathua, Ramban, Rajouri, Anantnag, Pulwama, Srinagar, Reasi and Ganderbal districts will be a part of Jammu and Kashmir.

List of 9 UTs in India

Chandigarh, Daman and Diu, Dadar and Nagar Haveli, Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar, Jammu and Kashmir,  Ladakh, Lakshadweep and Puducherry.

List of 28 states in India

Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Goa, Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Gujarat, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Odisha,  Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Tripura, Mizoram, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand and West Bengal.

Below is the new map of India after removing article 370

Pakistan-occupied Kashmir is now part of the newly created Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir. Gilgit-Baltistan is in the UT of Ladakh in the new maps released by the government on Saturday following the bifurcation.

UT of Ladakh = districts of Kargil and Leh

In 1947, at the time of Independence the erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir had the following 14 districts –Jammu, Udhampur, Reasi, Anantnag, Kathua, Baramulla, Poonch, Mirpur, Leh and Ladakh, Gilgit, Gilgit Wazarat, Muzaffarabad, Chilhas and Tribal Territory, a home ministry statement said.

New In 2019, the state of Jammu and Kashmir had been reorganized, the areas of these 14 districts into 28 districts. The names of the new districts are – Kupwara, Bandipur, Ganderbal, Srinagar, Budgam, Pulwama, Shopian, Kulgam, Rajouri, Ramban, Doda, Kishtwar, Samba, and Kargil.


About The Author

Pravin Pathak is an Indian fact-checker and news writer, writing news for Ayupp since 2014.

You Might Be Interested In

Latest On Ayupp.com