image source youtube grab
Google Ads

Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad wins DUSU polls

Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad wins DUSU polls

NEW DELHI: BJP's student wing Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) bagged three of the four seats in the Delhi University Students' Union (DUSU) elections. The counting of votes started at 9am on Saturday.

ABVP won the post of president, vice president and secretary. The post of joint secretary went to Congress's National Students Union of India (NSUI).

Amit Tanwar was elected president of DUSU while Priyanka Chabri won vice president's post. Ankit Sangwan and Mohit Sangwan have been elected as secretary and joint secretary respectively.

Delhi University introduced NOTA this year and a large number of voters preferred it.


Candidates of the Congress’ National Students’ Union of India (NSUI) got the second highest number of votes for the posts of president, secretary and joint-secretary.

Debutant CYSS — the AAP’s student wing — didn’t perform as well as it expected to. But the union managed to make a mark, with its candidate for the vice-president’s post getting the second highest number of votes.

This year this is the lowest in Poll turnout in five years.

Only 36.2% of students cast their ballot in this year's DUSU polls. The turnout was the lowest since 2011 when it was 36.5%.  

On Friday, the morning turnout was approximately 33%, significantly lower than last year's overall turnout of 43.3%. In fact, voter turnout in the past three years has hovered around 43%. In 2010, only 36% of students cast their vote.

Voters and students' outfits blamed the DU administration for the poor turnout.