Ayupp Google Ads

Joshi gets Rail, Sibal gets Law Ministery, congress ministers appointment

After the reignation of Ashwani kumar and Pawan Bansal Telecom Minister Kapil Sibal will get additional charge of Law Ministry and Road and Transport Minister C P Joshi the Railway portfolio on Saturday.
This is the second time that Joshi takes additional charge of the Railways – he held the Rail portfolio for over a month in September last year, after the TMC pulled out of the UPA alliance. With this responsibility in the hands of C.P. joshi, the railway ministry has landed down in the hands of Congress after 17 years.

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh has written to President Pranab Mukherjee recommending the changes, a day after Bansal and Kumar resigned in the wake of allegations of bribery and interfering with the CBI probe in the Coalgate scam, official sources said.

The changes in the portfolios notwithstanding, there is speculation that there could be a reshuffle of the Union Council of Ministers to fill up some vacancies caused by the DMK's exit from the government and placing new nominees in the departments being held as additional charge.

How ministers are appointed ?

Under article 75 (1) - Prime Minister of India is selected by the President and the ministers are appointed by the president on advice of the Prime Minister. The portfolio allocation to different ministers is also done by him.

Some of the railway ministers of the Indian Union before Mukul Roy:

1. Dinesh Trivedi- 12 July 2011- 14 March 2012.
2. Mamata Banerjee- 2009–2011, she resigned from the ministry on 19 May 2011.
3. Laloo Prasad Yadav- 2004–2009.
4. Nitish Kumar- 2001–2004.

The Prime Minister of India, Manmohan Singh managed the railway portfolio for a period of about two months after Mamata Banerjee resigned from the position.