image source youtube grab
Google Ads

New Army chief of India Lt General Bipin Rawat, New air chief of India Air Marshal Birender Singh Dhanoa

The BJP led Narendra Modi government appointed the next Army chief Bipin Rawat and the next air Marcel of India Birender Singh Dhanoa fully on the basis of merit, superseding two of the other best senior officers

New Delhi, New Air Marcel and New Army chief:  The Narendra Modi government appointed Bipin Rawat on the basis of merit, but to do this the governments choose not to follow the traditional old method of selecting a new Army chief. The army has been selecting its Army chief based on the seniority since 1983.

Next Army Chief, Lt General Bipin Rawat

Lieutenant General Bipin Rawat was made the Vice Chief of Army, in September 2016. On his appointment as the Army chief, the government said his selection was done only on the basis of merit and they have not ignored Lt Gen Praveen Bakshi and The officer next in line, Lt Gen PM Hariz who was equally respected as an outstanding professional of rare calibre. He has also been superseded. The Commander-in-Chief of the Eastern Command, who was widely expected to take over as the next chief.The government has every right to choose any army chief but till now the senior most was selected and this was the custom being followed, however the current Modi government changed the norm in 2016.Definitely people will be waiting to see the next move by Lt Gen Praveen Bakshi and Lt Gen PM Hariz and will they oppose the government move on this. Lieutenant General Praveen Bakshi was commissioned in December 1977.Lieutenant General PM Hariz was commissioned in 1978

In 1983, a similar event had happened when A.S Vaidya was selected, after superseding SK Sinha, later Sinha opposed it.

Next Air Chief: Birender Singh Dhanoa

Birender Singh Dhanoa (BS Dhanoa ) is selected as the new Air force chief.

Air Marshal Birender Singh Dhanoa, is Vice Chief of the Air Staff of the Indian Air Force and assumed the office on 1 June 2015 and will assume the post of Air Chief on 1 January 2017 after Air Chief Marshal Arup Raha retires. Dhanoa has been awarded several medals: the Ati Vishisht Seva Medal (2015), the Yudh Seva Medal (1999), and the Vayu Sena Medal (1999). Dhanoa was awarded Ati Vishisht Seva Medal (AVSM) in 2015 by the President of India for his distinguished service..

Lt. Bipin Rawat, the new Army chief will take over Dalbir Singh from 1st January 2017.

BS Dhanoa, the new head of the Air Chief will take up the job from Air Force chief, Air Chief Marshal Arup Raha, both retiring on December 31 this year.

General Dalbir Singh and Arup Raha will retire both on the same day 31 dec 2016.