Ayupp Google Ads

Video, India List of the National Bravery Awards 2016, 25 children

New Delhi, 23 Dec 2017: Each year The National Bravery awards is given to 25 children for their meritorious acts of bravery against all odds. This awards are given by the government of India each year. These awards were first instituted in the year 1957, and are given in five different categories every year. This year 2016 in India, The National Bravery awards, four of awards will be given posthumously.

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi, earliar presented the National Bravery Awards to 25 children. 

Interacting with the awardees, the Prime Minister said their deeds of bravery show their decisiveness as much as their courage. He encouraged the children to ensure that this award does not become the end of their life’s purpose, and added that this award should only mark the beginning for them.

Reminding the children about the significance of the day – 23rd January, Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose’s birth anniversary – the Prime Minister urged the children to read as much as possible, and especially read biographies of leaders, sportspersons and other people who have done great deeds in their lives.

He said that bravery is a state of mind; a healthy body helps, but the prime moving force is the mind. Therefore, he added, we need to make the mind strong. He urged the children to ensure that the adulation and fame that they are getting, should not become an obstacle to their future progress.

The Minister for Women and Child Development, Smt Maneka Gandhi, was present on the occasion. 

The National Bravery Award Scheme was initiated by the ICCW – Indian Council for Child Welfare – to give due recognition to the children who distinguish themselves by performing outstanding deeds of bravery and meritorious service and to inspire other children to emulate their examples.

List of Children Honoured with National Bravery Awards 2016:

1. Bharat Award to Tarh Peeju

2. Geeta Chopra Award to Tejasweeta Pradhan & Shivani Gond

3. Sanjay Chopra Award to Sumit Mamgain

4. Bapu Gaidhani Award to Roluahpuii

5. Bapu Gaidhani Award to Tushar Verma

6. Bapu Gaidhani Award to H. Lalhriatpuii

7. Neelam Dhruv

8. Sonu Mali

9. Mohan Sethy

10. Siya Vamansa Khode

11. Thanghilmang Lunkim

12. Praful Sharma

13. Tankeswar Pegu

14. Moirangthem Sadananda Singh

15. Adithyan M.P. Pillai

16. Km. Anshika Pandey

17. Binil Manjaly

18. Akshita Sharma & Akshit Sharma

19. Akhil K. Shibu

20. Naman

21. Nisha Dilip Patil

22. Badarunnisa K.P.

23. Payal Devi

National Bravery Awards 2016

This year the awards will be given to 25 children (12 girls and 13 boys) will receive the awards for 2016.  Four of the 25 awards this year have being given posthumously.

Learning of the awards:

The National Bravery Awards  to childrens between 6-18 years of age on the date of the incident were started in the year 1957. This was started with two children, a boy and a girl, who were first awarded for their exemplary presence of mind and courage.

Ever since, the Indian Council for Child Welfare (ICCW) has been giving the National Awards for Bravery awards every year to children from various parts of the country between the age group of 6 to 18 years old.

The awards are given to children’s to show spontaneous selfless service in the face of risk to life or threat of physical injury, who show act of courage and daring against a social evil/crime.

This Children’s Pass through the Rajpath during the Republic Day Parade

The national bravery awards to children are given in 5 different categories:

  • Geeta Chopra Award: Instituted in 1978 and given to a girl.
  • Bharat Award: Instituted in 1987 and awarded to exceptionally outstanding gallantry deeds.
  • Bapu Gaidhani Awards (three): Instituted in 1988 and given to three children.
  • Sanjay Chopra Award: Instituted in 1978 and given to a boy.
  • General Awards: Instituted in 1957.

Selection Procedure: The selection is made by a high powered Committee constituted by ICCW comprising representatives from Secretariats of the President of India, Vice-President of India, Ministries of Human Resource Development, Women & Child Development, Youth Affairs & Sports, Social Justice & Empowerment, Health & Family Welfare, Railways, Defence, Home Affairs, Labour, Rural Development, Information & Broadcasting, AIR, Doordarshan, Police, some NGOs, Office-Bearers and members of the Council. Applications once rejected will not be entertained again. The Selection Committee may at its discretion consider relaxation of any of the conditions/rules if it so deems fit.

The decision of the Selection Committee shall be final.

Award: The Awardees receive a medal, a certificate and cash award. Gifts are given by philanthropic organizations.


Additional Benefits: Eligible awardees are granted assistance until they complete their schooling. ICCW provides financial assistance under its Indira Gandhi Scholarship Scheme to those undertaking professional courses such as engineering and medicine and to others till they complete their graduation.

To read More visit: http://iccw.co.in/scheme_details.html