Image from ECi
Google Ads

Will Election commission of India bend to opposition like congress

New Delhi, Apr. 10: The opposition parties like the congress, NCP, RJD, BSP are hell bent to stop the use of Electronic voting Machines from the polling in India.

The Congress today emphasized and gave examples of other countries where EVM are not in usage. It said other countries like Japan and Germany whose technology is far better than India, ballot paper is used instead of electronic system. Congress stated that it had faith in the Election Commission of India (ECI), but not on the Electronic Voting Machines (EVM).

"We have all referred to the global best practices where overwhelming majority of democracies in the world are not using electronic voting system. The country Japan, from where the chip is coming, is itself not using the EVMs.

Congress leader Anand Sharma said,  “There were earlier eight countries in Europe which opted for electronic machines, however six have stopped using the machine, including Germany where the Supreme Court has come out with the strong statement,".

Sharma Accused the Central, BJP Government of tampering the EVMs, he said this government has refused to give the money for verifiable paper trail that raises a basic question about the intent of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government.

The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) leader Majeed Memom also said that all leaders of the opposition party are unanimously addressing the commission with regard to the lack of faith in EVM functioning.

In the meeting with Election Commission, ECI, a team of top opposition leaders put forward their demand before the ECI of using ballot papers instead of Electronic Voting Machine (EVMs) in the upcoming elections in view of the alleged tampering.

The leader who were present today were Leader of Opposition Ghulam Nabi Azad's, Congress leaders Ahmed Patel, Anand Sharma, Kapil Sibal and Vivek Tankha, Janata Dal (United) (JD(U)) leader Ali Anwar Ansari, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) leader Satish Misra, Trinamool Congress leader Sukhendu Sekhar Roy, and Samajwadi Party leader Neeraj Shekhar, Communist Party of India leader D. Raja, NCP leader Majeed Memon and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader J.P. Narain Yadav were also present during the meeting and all strongly raised the issue with the ECI.