Mamata Banerjee wins Bhabanipur by more than 58,832 votes, EC asks no celebration

West Bengal: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Sunday won the bypoll to the Bhabanipur seat by a margin of 58,832 votes. Mamata Banerjee over time is becoming the main rival for Narendra Modi. The result in Bhabanipur suggests the same. The Chief Minister polled more votes than in 2011 at the Bhabanipur constituency in south Kolkata. The leader from WB said after winning the seat, “Around 46% of people here (in Bhowanipore) are non-Bengalis. They all have voted for me. People of West Bengal are watching Bhabanipur, which has inspired me: West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee”.

The Chief Minister hailed the results by flashing three fingers -- representing her election slogan of "Ma, Mati, Manush" -- instead of the traditional victory sign. "We are winning at  Shamsherganj and Jangipur as well," she said.

The election commission just before the declaration of the results of the by-elections in three assembly seats of West Bengal has given clear instructions to the Mamata government not to celebrate any kind of victory in the state. The Election Commission has also asked the state government to ensure that all necessary measures are taken to prevent post-poll violence. 

In a letter written by the Election Commission to the Bengal government, it has been said that there should be no celebration of any kind during the counting of votes for the by-elections or after the results are declared.  The CM of Bengal himself is contesting from the Bhawanipur seat and after her victory, TMC workers have been seen celebrating in many places. BJP had made Priyanka Tibrewal its candidate against Mamta from this seat. 

Read More at Ayupp

Mamta leading massive by 45,000 votes in Bhabanipur

Will Bhawanipur be place of next post poll violence if Mamta loses from here 

FIR against Priyanka Tibrewal who stood against Mamata Banerjee 

After the results of the Bengal assembly elections held this year, incidents of violence and arson were reported in many places in the state, for which hearing is also going on in the Supreme Court. 

If Mamta Banerjee has to remain the CM of West Bengal, then it is necessary for her to win the by-election in the Bhawanipur seat. She lost the Nandigram seat to BJP's Shubhendu Adhikari in the assembly elections. Mamta Banerjee has won the election twice from the Bhawanipur seat. 

Apart from Bhawanipur, by-elections were also held on September 30 for Shamsherganj and Jangipur seats in the Murshidabad district of Bengal. The results of all three seats will be declared today. 

About The Author

Ashwin Roy is an Indian fact-checker and news writer, writing news for Ayupp since 2014.

You Might Be Interested In

Latest On