President flag india
Google Ads

How is the President of India elected process? Complete information

New Delhi: India's President Pranab Mukherjee's tenure ends on July 25, 2017. This month the 14th President of the country will be elected. In the opposition parties, so far, there is no consensus on the presidential candidate. The Central government is also engaged in consensus on the presidential candidate with its party and allies.

As the issue of candidates for the presidential elections continues, the intense churning is going on within all the political parties. So it is important to know that the process of presidential elections in India is not easy. Election is conducted by indirect voting. Instead of the public, the elected representatives of the public elect the President of India.

1.  Why the public can not choose the President directly?

In the year 1848, Louis Napoleon was elected as the head of the state with a direct vote, Louis Napoleon overthrew the French Republic and claimed that the people have chosen him directly, then he is the king of France. In view of this incident, the President of India is indirectly elected.

2.  Electoral College gets presidential vote

The President of India is elected by the Election College. This is mentioned in Article 54 of the Constitution. It consists of elected members of both the Houses of Parliament and the State Legislative Assemblies. MLAs of two union territories, Delhi and Pondicherry also participate in the elections, which have their own legislative assemblies.

All MPs and MLAs have a certain number of votes; however, the value of votes of every elected MLA and MPs is long calculated.

3.  Power of legislators

The population of that state is seen to calculate the votes of the legislators of the states. Also, the number of assembly members of that state is taken into consideration. The ratio of votes is divided by the number of MLAs elected from the total population of the state. After which the number gets out, it is then divided by 1000.The number of votes of a legislator from the state comes out from the number of points received after division by 1000.

4.  Power of MPs

The way to value the votes of MPs is a little different. Firstly the value of votes of all the legislators of the whole country is added. Which is divided by the total number of MPs elected in the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha. The number of votes of a MP from the state comes out from the number. If there is more than 0.5 remaining on the part of this way, then there is an increase in the weightage.

5.  Counting of votes

In the presidential election, the candidate's victory is not just by getting the most votes; he also has to get more than half the share of the votes of MPs and legislators. In simple words, before the election it is decided that the winning candidate should get the number of votes or weightage. For example, if there are 10,000 valid votes, then the candidate (10,000 / 2) +1 will be required, which is equivalent to 5001 votes.

6.  What does mathematics say?

Besides the 776 MPs of the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha, 4120 MLAs of the State Legislative Assembly will vote in the presidential election. That is, a total of 4896 people will join the new president. According to the presidential election process, the total value of these votes is 10.98 lakhs.

7.  What is the position BJP government in the presidential election

To make BJP's choice of President, the NDA has to get votes equal to 5.49 lakhs. NDA (MPs of 23 parties and legislative assemblies of state legislatures / legislative councils) hold about 48.64 percent of the Electoral College related to the presidential election.BJP 5 lakh 32 thousand 19, but of these about 20 thousand votes are of NDA's allies. By stopping the resignation of Yogi Adityanath, Keshav Prasad Maurya and Parrikar, the BJP at the centre has completed the shortage of 2100 votes. Of the 29 states in the country, the BJP occupies 12. NDA is in 15 states with BJP joining.

8.  Position of the opposition

Congress is the biggest party in along with Trinamool Congress and the Left parties. On the basis of political equations in the opposite state or the center, the percentage of 23 parties which could go with the Congress-led opposition, is almost 35.47 percent of the vote. The Opposition parties have estimated votes of 3,91,000.

9.  Volatile votes and small parties

These six parties have not yet opened their cards, Aam Aadmi Party, Biju Janata Dal, Indian National Lok Dal, YSR Congress, Trinamool Congress and AIADM. The vote percentage of these 6 parties is also around 13. There are 1,70,000 estimated votes in the numbers.