New Delhi: Polling is over for the country's 14th presidential election. Election results will be announced on July 20. PM Modi and BJP President Amit Shah voted in the polling booth in Parliament. Apart from these, many Union ministers and MPs including senior BJP leader Murli Manohar Joshi also voted. On the other hand, CM Yogi Adityanath in Uttar Pradesh also voted to elect the person suitable for the top post.
Congress President Sonia Gandhi, Vice President Rahul Gandhi also cast their vote. There is a direct contest between NDA candidate Ramnath Kovind and opposition candidate Meira Kumar in the election of the new President, for which 32 voting centers have been made.

At the same time, the Chief Ministers and the legislators also voted in different state assemblies. Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani, Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fananvis, Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Raman Singh, Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan voted in their respective states.
Prior to going to vote, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said in the media, "After the summer, the first rain fills a new aroma in the soil. Due to successful implementation of GST, the entire session will be full of new fragrances and new pleasures. When all the political parties in the country, all decide on just and just for the national interest the nation also gows.

Union Information and Broadcasting Minister Venkaiah Naidu said that Ramnath Kovind will win with a good and respectful margin. At the same time, Bahujan Samaj Party supremo Mayawati has said that no one will win in the presidential election but the next president will be from the Scheduled Castes and this is a big victory for our movement and party.
Earliar today in the Parliament and the Legislative Assembly, the voting started at 10 o'clock in the evening and ended at five o'clock. Results will come on 20th july. MPs and legislators voted in the Legislative Assembly of their states in Parliament. For the elections, MPs were given 'green' and 'pink' ballots were issued to the legislators. Members of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha and members of the State Legislatures are voters in these elections. The NDA's side looks huge in this election, but the opposition is trying to raise support from regional parties in support of its candidate.

Ramnath Kovind's victory is certain
Kovind's victory is certain with 60 percent of the votes. Since the whip is not issued for presidential elections, therefore there is a possibility of cross-voting in the presidential elections. It is believed that Kovind can win elections with more votes than Pranab Mukherjee on the votes cast from the NDA outside of the NDA. In the 2012 election, Pranab defeated his rival PA Sangma by getting 69 percent of the votes.
External Affairs Minister Pranab Mukherjee's tenure ends on July 24 this year. So far, 13 people including Mukherjee have been in this post. A total of 4896 voters in these elections - 4120 legislators and 776 MPs - are eligible to exercise their franchise. Members of State Legislative Council do not participate in this election.

NDA has 5,37,683 votes
While the Speaker can cast votes in this election, two members nominated from the Anglo-Indian community in the Lok Sabha are not entitled to vote. 12 nominated members of the Rajya Sabha are ineligible to vote in these elections. Because this election is done through confidential ballot papers, therefore, parties cannot issue whips to vote for their members in favor of a particular candidate. The BJP-led NDA has a total of 5,37,683 votes, including Shiv Sena, and it needs about 12,000 more votes. However, the promise of support from the BJD, TRS and YSR Congress and the possibility of support from a faction of AIADMK can fulfill the difference in the shortage of votes in the presidential elections.
55 MPs cast votes in states
The Election Commission has allowed 55 MPs, including Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya and Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar, to vote in the state Legislative Assemblies. These include 14 Rajya Sabha and 41 Lok Sabha members. Apart from this, five MLAs voted in the polling station of Parliament House.

About The Author

Chetan Sharma is an Indian fact-checker and news writer, writing news for Ayupp since 2014.

You Might Be Interested In

Latest On