27 smart cities announced Varanasi, Agra, Kohima make the cut


The government has announced, another list of 27 new list of smart cities today, taking the total number of cities that will get the makeover under prime minister Narendra Modi's pet Project  to 60.

The new list has 4 each from Tamil Nadu and Karnataka, 5 cities from Maharashtra, 3 from Uttar Pradesh, 2 each from Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh,  Punjab, and one each from Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Gujarat, Sikkim and Nagaland. Main inclusions in the latest list are prime minister Narendra Modi's constituency Varanasi, Shivamogga (Shimoga) in Karnataka, Thanjavur (Tamil Nadu), Mengaluru (Karnataka) and Kohima (Nagaland).

Stating that the ambitious smart city project is ahead of schedule, M Venkaiah Naidu, the Urban development minister said the 60 cities have proposed a total investment of Rs 1.44 lakh crore.

You may also like to read our latest analysed news:
- Fake news check: Mullaperiyar Dam In Kerala About To Break
- Hundreds of rescue teams aided by more than 90 aircraft and 500 motorboats
- CBDT issues Circular on amendment of Tax Audit Report
- PM visits Kerala, reviews relief and rescue operations

Note: If you like being among the first to know about latest news, trending hoaxes, fake news etc, consider giving us a like on facebook or follow us on twitter (@myayupp)
Ayupp News