Movies News

Ayupp Fact Check

Ad - Article Continues below

Bangalore: The Congress will form the next government and will not need help. The party is leading in 118 seats, which will give it a majority in the 224-seat

The Janata Dal (Secular), which is the other big gainer of the day, is neck and neck with the BJP  and may become the main Opposition party.

After five years of turbulent rule in Karnataka, the BJP is history. The JD (S)  is leading in 39, the BJP in 40.Confident that Congress will notch a majority in the assembly, state leaders insisted that the CM be picked from among the legislators, ruling out Union ministers for the job.
Sibal said” BJP will meet same fate in 2014,BJPwill remain no.3 in 2014”

Congress strongman in Karnataka Siddharamiah was sanguine in victory. "It was only expected," said the man who could be the next chief minister.

Added BJP leader and former chief minister Sadanand Gowda soberly: "We have not been able to rise to the occasion. We could not reach out to the voter with whatever development work we did in Karnataka.

Rajiv Pratap Rudy said : "We have lost the election. And it is time for introspection."

JD-S leader H.D. Kumaraswamy, who had hoped perhaps to be kingmaker, said he was happy to be the main opposition.

"We will be happy to be the main opposition in Karnataka. We will play our role well. The Congress is not going to come to us seeking our help, we know that,.”

Key candidates


Lead: MH Ambareesh (Mandya), H K Patil (Gadag), SS Mallikarjuna (Davangere North), Priyank M Kharge (Chittapur), Dinesh Gundurao (Gandhi Nagar), Roshan Baig (Shivajinagar), Siddaramaiah (Varuna), TB Jayachandra (Sira), Umashree (Terdal), Ajay Dharmsingh (Jevargi)

Trail: Dr G Parameshwara (Koratagere), S Kumar Bangarrapa (Sorab), CK Abdul Rahman Sharief (Hebbal), CM Ibrahim (Bhadravati)


Lead: Govind Karjol (Mudhol), R Ashoka (Padmanaba Naga

Trail: PC Mohan (Gandhi Nagar), KS Eshwarappa (Shimoga), S Suresh Kumar (Rajaji Nagar)


Lead: HD Kumaraswamy (Ramanagaram), HD Revanna (Holenarasipur)

Trail: Anitha Kumaraswamy (Channapatna)


Lead: BS Yeddyurappa (KJP) - Shikaripura, JD(S), B Sreeramulu (BSRC) – Bellary

Trail: Pooja Gandhi (BSRC) - Raichur, Shobha Karandlaje (KJP) – Rajaji Nagar

The counting of votes to elect a new Assembly began at 8am on Wednesday at 36 centres.

Elections were held to 223 segments on Sunday, after the one in Periyapatna in Mysore district was countermanded to May 28 following the death of BJP candidate. At 71.29 per cent, the voter turnout was the second highest in the state history, after 71.90 per cent in 1978.





Donate to Ayupp News!

We have been fact checking for over the years, currently need your support. Please consider donating in support to spread true information.
To make an instant donation to, click on the "Donate Now" button above.

Scroll to Top