Pakistan: Shahid Khakon Abbasi was elected as the new Prime Minister of Pakistan after Nawaz Sharif was removed after being found guilty in the case of corruption in the Panama Papers. Shahid Abbasi got 221 votes. Abbasi became the 18th Prime Minister of Pakistan by winning the vote of confidence. Shahid Khakon Abbasi was nominated as Interim Prime Minister on behalf of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N).

The Supreme Court convicted 67-year-old Nawaz Sharif on Friday in the Panama Paper case and termed him disqualified as Prime Minister, after which Nawaz resigned. After the resignation, PML-N named Abbasi as the interim Prime Minister till the Chief Minister of Punjab and Nawaz's brother Shahbaz Sharif became their member of Parliament to become the Prime Minister. The Pakistan central government's ten-month tenure is left.
Shahid Khakon Abbasi, the former minister for petroleum and natural resources. He is principal accused in a National Accountability Bureau (NAB) case registered in 2015 over the award of a LNG import contract.

The case also include other suspects, former petroleum secretary Abid Saeed, Inter State Gas Systems (ISGS) managing director Mobin Saulut, private firm Engros chief executive officer Emranul Haq and the Sui Southern Gas Companys (SSGC) ex-MD Zuhair Ahmed Siddiqui, the report said.

About The Author

Chetan Sharma is an Indian fact-checker and news writer, writing news for Ayupp since 2014.

You Might Be Interested In

Latest On